Updated · how we check
SSC signature size
The SSC form takes a signature of about 60 × 20 mm, 10 KB–20 KB, as JPG/JPEG. The photograph is captured live through a webcam or mobile device inside the application module; an existing photo file is not uploaded.
SSC signature
JPG · 10-20 KB (10,240-20,000 bytes) · 60x20 mm at 300 DPI · white background
PixelFit aims between 10,240 and 20,000 bytes, so the file passes whether the form counts 1 KB as 1,000 or 1,024 bytes. 60x20 mm at 300 DPI is 709x236 pixels.
Fit, background and padding pad with colour · white background · padding off
Saving presets is part of Pro.
The result appears here: the exact byte count, pixel size and quality, the size before and after, a preview and a download button.
The batch kit (one ZIP for up to 500 photos, several photos merged into one PDF) is part of Pro.
SSC upload specifications
Values for the SSC examinations 2026 (CGL, CHSL, Stenographer, CHT, CAPF SI), copied from SSC Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination 2026, notice, checked 31 October 2026; "not stated" means the source gives no figure for it.
| Upload | Pixel size | Print size | File size | Format | Background |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Signature | 709 × 236 px at 300 DPI (computed; the tool uses this) | 60 × 20 mm | 10 KB–20 KB | JPG/JPEG | not stated |
SSC sizes in pixels and millimetres
Print sizes become pixels at a resolution (pixels = mm ÷ 25.4 × DPI); pixel sizes become print sizes the other way round. Computed for the SSC uploads at 200 and 300 DPI.
| Upload | Aspect ratio | Megapixels | At 200 DPI | At 300 DPI |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Signature | 3:1 (print size) | 0.17 MP at 300 DPI | 472 × 157 px | 709 × 236 px |
What the SSC KB limits mean in bytes
The SSC signature range of 10 KB–20 KB is 10,240 to 20,000 bytes if you want a file that passes whether the portal counts 1,000 or 1,024 bytes per KB: a window of 9,760 bytes to aim for.
Estimated JPG file size for SSC uploads
Estimated from sizes measured with sharp 0.35.5 / libvips 8.18.7 on public-domain sample images (31 October 2026), interpolated to each target size. Your own scan can land 30-50% either side, which is why the tool measures the real file.
| Upload | Pixel size used | Quality 60 | Quality 75 | Quality 85 | Quality 95 | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Signature | 709 × 236 px | 10.9 KB | 14.9 KB | 21.2 KB | 41.6 KB | 10 KB–20 KB |
Will the SSC signature fit the limit?
For the SSC signature at 709 × 236 px (60 × 20 mm at 300 DPI), quality 82 (about 18.8 KB) is the highest setting that stays under 20 KB, and quality 85 (21.2 KB) clears the 10 KB minimum.
SSC rejection checklist
Upload checks computed from the SSC specification; a file that fails any one of them is usually refused at upload or flagged later.
- Signature: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
- Signature: The SSC signature file is no larger than 20 KB (20,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
- Signature: The SSC signature file is at least 10 KB (10,240 bytes or more); files under the minimum are rejected even when they look sharp.
- Signature: Printed size is 60 × 20 mm.
How to resize your signature for SSC
-
Prepare the signature
Sign on white paper, then scan or photograph it flat in good light. The annexures of the CGL, CHSL and CHT notices give about 4.0 cm x 2.0 cm instead; both are 'about' sizes.
-
Load the preset
Drop the file into the tool at the top of this page. The "SSC signature" preset is already set to 60 × 20 mm and 10 KB–20 KB, as JPG/JPEG.
-
Check the result
Read the before and after sizes: the SSC signature must end between 10,240 and 20,000 bytes. If it ends under 10 KB, open "Fit, background and padding" and tick the option to pad a file that ends up below the minimum. Download it.
-
Upload and preview
Upload the file on the SSC form and check the preview before you submit; verify the figures with the official notice first.
What the SSC source also says
- The photograph is captured live through a webcam or mobile device inside the application module; an existing photo file is not uploaded.
- Signature: The annexures of the CGL, CHSL and CHT notices give about 4.0 cm x 2.0 cm instead; both are 'about' sizes.
SSC compared with similar forms
SSC next to the forms with the closest specifications in this index, so one prepared file can be checked against several forms.
| Form | Photo size | Photo file size | Signature file size |
|---|---|---|---|
| SSC (this page) | live capture / none | n/a | 10 KB–20 KB |
| JKSSB | live capture / none | n/a | 10 KB–20 KB |
| IBPS PO | 200 × 230 px (preferred) | 20 KB–50 KB | 10 KB–20 KB |
| ISRO ICRB | 200 × 230 px (preferred) | 20 KB–50 KB | 10 KB–20 KB |
| MAH B.P.Ed CET | 200 × 230 px (preferred) | 20 KB–50 KB | 10 KB–20 KB |
Where the SSC figures come from
This page covers Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) 2026; Combined Graduate Level (CGL) 2026; Stenographer Grade C & D 2026; Combined Hindi Translators (CHT) 2026; Sub-Inspector in Delhi Police and CAPFs 2026.
The same figures appear in SSC CGL 2026 notice, SSC Stenographer 2026 notice, SSC CHT 2026 notice, SSC CAPF SI 2026 notice, also checked on 31 October 2026.
Verify with the official SSC notice before you submit: forms change between application cycles and the check on the live portal is final.
Sources
- SSC Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination 2026, notice, Staff Selection Commission (SSC), checked 31 October 2026: ssc.gov.in/api/attachment/uploads/masterData/NoticeBoards…
- Measured by PixelFit with sharp 0.35.5 / libvips 8.18.7 on 31 October 2026, interpolated to each SSC target size, on this sample: handwritten letter with signature, Ulysses S. Grant (via DPLA), public domain: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Ulysses_S._Grant_letter_t…
- Same figures: SSC CGL 2026 notice, checked 31 October 2026: ssc.gov.in/api/attachment/uploads/masterData/NoticeBoards…
- Same figures: SSC Stenographer 2026 notice, checked 31 October 2026: ssc.gov.in/api/attachment/uploads/masterData/NoticeBoards…
- Same figures: SSC CHT 2026 notice, checked 31 October 2026: ssc.gov.in/api/attachment/uploads/masterData/NoticeBoards…
Frequently asked questions
What is the signature size for SSC?
The SSC signature must be 10 KB–20 KB, 60 × 20 mm, as JPG/JPEG.
How do I resize my signature to 20 KB for SSC?
Open the tool on this page with the SSC signature preset, drop the file and download the result: it searches JPG quality until the file is under 20 KB and over 10 KB; at 709 × 236 px expect about 21.2 KB at quality 85. Nothing is uploaded.
What pixel size should the SSC signature be?
60 × 20 mm. At 300 DPI that is 709 × 236 px; at 200 DPI 472 × 157 px.
Can I upload a PNG or PDF for the SSC signature?
Only JPG/JPEG; PNG, PDF, HEIC are not listed. The tool can turn a PNG, WebP or (in Safari) HEIC file into JPG while it resizes.
Related
Similar forms
- JKSSB signature size 10 KB–20 KB
- IBPS PO photo and signature size 20 KB–50 KB
- ISRO ICRB photo and signature size 20 KB–50 KB
- MAH B.P.Ed CET photo and signature size 20 KB–50 KB
- SBI photo and signature size 20 KB–50 KB
- TGPSC Departmental Tests photo and signature size at most 50 KB
Compress to the SSC limits
- Compress an image to 10–20 KB SSC signature
- Compress an image to 20 KB SSC signature limit 10 KB–20 KB
Resize to the exact size
Change the file format
- PNG to JPG SSC accepts JPG/JPEG
- WEBP to JPG SSC accepts JPG/JPEG
- HEIC to JPG SSC accepts JPG/JPEG