Skip to content

Updated · how we check

SBI photo and signature size

The SBI form takes a photo of 200 × 230 px (preferred), 20 KB–50 KB and a signature of 140 × 60 px (preferred), 10 KB–20 KB, both as JPG/JPEG. It also takes a left thumb impression (20 KB–50 KB) and a hand-written declaration (50 KB–100 KB).

SBI photo

JPG · 20-50 KB (20,480-50,000 bytes) · 200x230 px · white background

PixelFit aims between 20,480 and 50,000 bytes, so the file passes whether the form counts 1 KB as 1,000 or 1,024 bytes.

What are you uploading?
Fit, background and padding crop to fill · white background · padding off

Saving presets is part of Pro.

Pick a photo to fit it to 20-50 KB (20,480-50,000 bytes).

The result appears here: the exact byte count, pixel size and quality, the size before and after, a preview and a download button.

SBI upload specifications

Values for the SBI PO and Junior Associate (Clerk) 2025 online applications, copied from SBI Recruitment of Probationary Officers, Advertisement CRPD/PO/2025-26/04, checked 31 October 2026; "not stated" means the source gives no figure for it.

UploadPixel sizePrint sizeFile sizeFormatBackground
Photo 200 × 230 px preferred 35 × 45 mm 20 KB–50 KB JPG/JPEG light-coloured, preferably white
Signature 140 × 60 px preferred not stated 10 KB–20 KB JPG/JPEG white paper
Left thumb impression 240 × 240 px preferred 30 × 30 mm at 200 DPI 20 KB–50 KB JPG/JPEG not stated
Hand-written declaration 800 × 400 px preferred 100 × 50 mm at 200 DPI 50 KB–100 KB JPG/JPEG not stated

SBI sizes in pixels and millimetres

Print sizes become pixels at a resolution (pixels = mm ÷ 25.4 × DPI); pixel sizes become print sizes the other way round. Computed for the SBI uploads at 200 and 300 DPI.

UploadAspect ratioMegapixelsAt 200 DPIAt 300 DPI
Photo 7:9 (print size) 0.22 MP at 300 DPI 276 × 354 px 413 × 531 px
Signature 7:3 0.008 MP 17.8 × 7.6 mm 11.9 × 5.1 mm
Left thumb impression 1:1 (print size) 0.13 MP at 300 DPI 236 × 236 px 354 × 354 px
Hand-written declaration 2:1 (print size) 0.70 MP at 300 DPI 787 × 394 px 1,181 × 591 px

What the SBI KB limits mean in bytes

The SBI photo range of 20 KB–50 KB is 20,480 to 50,000 bytes if you want a file that passes whether the portal counts 1,000 or 1,024 bytes per KB: a window of 29,520 bytes to aim for.

The SBI signature range of 10 KB–20 KB is 10,240 to 20,000 bytes if you want a file that passes whether the portal counts 1,000 or 1,024 bytes per KB: a window of 9,760 bytes to aim for.

The SBI left thumb impression range of 20 KB–50 KB is 20,480 to 50,000 bytes if you want a file that passes whether the portal counts 1,000 or 1,024 bytes per KB: a window of 29,520 bytes to aim for.

The SBI hand-written declaration range of 50 KB–100 KB is 51,200 to 100,000 bytes if you want a file that passes whether the portal counts 1,000 or 1,024 bytes per KB: a window of 48,800 bytes to aim for.

Estimated JPG file size for SBI uploads

Estimated from sizes measured with sharp 0.35.5 / libvips 8.18.7 on public-domain sample images (31 October 2026), interpolated to each target size. Your own scan can land 30-50% either side, which is why the tool measures the real file.

UploadPixel size usedQuality 60Quality 75Quality 85Quality 95Limit
Photo 200 × 230 px 8.0 KB 10.2 KB 13.1 KB 21.9 KB 20 KB–50 KB
Signature 140 × 60 px 0.9 KB 1.1 KB 1.5 KB 2.7 KB 10 KB–20 KB
Left thumb impression 240 × 240 px 4.1 KB 5.7 KB 8.1 KB 15.4 KB 20 KB–50 KB
Hand-written declaration 800 × 400 px 39.9 KB 52.3 KB 70.1 KB 118 KB 50 KB–100 KB

Will the SBI photo fit the limit?

For the SBI photo at 200 × 230 px, even quality 95, the highest setting estimated here, stays under 50 KB at about 21.9 KB, and quality 85 (13.1 KB) misses the 20 KB minimum.

An ink-on-white scan for the SBI signature at 140 × 60 px comes to about 1.5 KB at JPG quality 85 and 2.7 KB even at quality 95, under the 10 KB minimum, so raise the pixel size if the form allows it or let the tool pad the file up to 10 KB (tick the padding option under "Fit, background and padding"; it is off by default).

An ink-on-white scan for the SBI left thumb impression at 240 × 240 px comes to about 8.1 KB at JPG quality 85 and 15.4 KB even at quality 95, under the 20 KB minimum, so raise the pixel size if the form allows it or let the tool pad the file up to 20 KB (tick the padding option under "Fit, background and padding"; it is off by default).

For the SBI hand-written declaration at 800 × 400 px, quality 91 (about 92.3 KB) is the highest setting that stays under 100 KB, and quality 85 (70.1 KB) clears the 50 KB minimum.

SBI rejection checklist

Upload checks computed from the SBI specification; a file that fails any one of them is usually refused at upload or flagged later.

  • Photo: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
  • Photo: The SBI photo file is no larger than 50 KB (50,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
  • Photo: The SBI photo file is at least 20 KB (20,480 bytes or more); files under the minimum are rejected even when they look sharp.
  • Photo: Pixel size is 200 × 230 px (the preferred size; the hard checks are on file size).
  • Photo: Background: light-coloured, preferably white.
  • Signature: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
  • Signature: The SBI signature file is no larger than 20 KB (20,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
  • Signature: The SBI signature file is at least 10 KB (10,240 bytes or more); files under the minimum are rejected even when they look sharp.
  • Signature: Pixel size is 140 × 60 px (the preferred size; the hard checks are on file size).
  • Signature: Background: white paper.
  • Left thumb impression: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
  • Left thumb impression: The SBI left thumb impression file is no larger than 50 KB (50,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
  • Left thumb impression: The SBI left thumb impression file is at least 20 KB (20,480 bytes or more); files under the minimum are rejected even when they look sharp.
  • Left thumb impression: Pixel size is 240 × 240 px (the preferred size; the hard checks are on file size).

How to resize your photo for SBI

  1. Take or scan the photo

    Use a recent colour photo (background: light-coloured, preferably white). Frame it in the 35 × 45 mm shape.

  2. Load the preset

    Drop the file into the tool at the top of this page. The "SBI photo" preset is already set to 200 × 230 px (preferred) and 20 KB–50 KB, as JPG/JPEG.

  3. Check the result

    Read the before and after sizes: the SBI photo must end between 20,480 and 50,000 bytes. If it ends under 20 KB, open "Fit, background and padding" and tick the option to pad a file that ends up below the minimum. Download it.

  4. Switch to the signature

    Pick the "SBI signature" preset, set to 140 × 60 px (preferred) and 10 KB–20 KB as JPG/JPEG, and repeat with the signature file. If it ends under 10 KB, open "Fit, background and padding" and tick the option to pad a file that ends up below the minimum.

  5. Upload and preview

    Upload the files on the SBI form and check the preview before you submit; verify the figures with the official notice first.

What the SBI source also says

  • The advertisements also describe a photo captured live during registration; the uploaded scan above is still required.
  • Signature: Black ink pen; capital-letter signatures are not accepted.

SBI compared with similar forms

Of these 5 forms, the SBI photo limit of 50 KB is the same for every form here that sets one; a file made for a stricter form usually passes a more generous one only if it also meets the minimum and the pixel size.

FormPhoto sizePhoto file sizeSignature file size
SBI (this page) 200 × 230 px (preferred) 20 KB–50 KB 10 KB–20 KB
IBPS PO 200 × 230 px (preferred) 20 KB–50 KB 10 KB–20 KB
ISRO ICRB 200 × 230 px (preferred) 20 KB–50 KB 10 KB–20 KB
MAH B.P.Ed CET 200 × 230 px (preferred) 20 KB–50 KB 10 KB–20 KB
RBI 200 × 230 px (preferred) 20 KB–50 KB 10 KB–20 KB

Where the SBI figures come from

This page covers SBI Probationary Officers 2025-26 (CRPD/PO/2025-26/04); SBI Junior Associates (Customer Support & Sales) 2025.

The same figures appear in SBI Junior Associates 2025 detailed advertisement, also checked on 31 October 2026.

Verify with the official SBI notice before you submit: forms change between application cycles and the check on the live portal is final.

Sources

  1. SBI Recruitment of Probationary Officers, Advertisement CRPD/PO/2025-26/04, State Bank of India, Central Recruitment & Promotion Department, checked 31 October 2026: sbi.bank.in/documents/77530/52947104/1_Detailed_Adv.2025_…
  2. Measured by PixelFit with sharp 0.35.5 / libvips 8.18.7 on 31 October 2026, interpolated to each SBI target size, on these samples: head-and-shoulders portrait, Pete Souza (Official White House photo), public domain: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:President_Barack_Obama.jpg; handwritten letter with signature, Ulysses S. Grant (via DPLA), public domain: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Ulysses_S._Grant_letter_t…; scanned typed document page, Frank M. Thompson, Attorney General of Tennessee (via DPLA / U.S. National Archives), public domain: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Typed_Letter_from_Frank_M…
  3. Same figures: SBI Junior Associates 2025 detailed advertisement, checked 31 October 2026: sbi.bank.in/documents/77530/52947104/JA+2025+-Detailed+Ad…

Frequently asked questions

What is the photo size for SBI in KB?

The SBI photo must be 20 KB–50 KB (keep it at or under 50,000 bytes to be safe), 200 × 230 px (preferred), as JPG/JPEG.

What is the signature size for SBI?

The SBI signature must be 10 KB–20 KB, 140 × 60 px (preferred), as JPG/JPEG on white paper.

How do I resize my photo to 50 KB for SBI?

Open the tool on this page with the SBI photo preset, drop the file and download the result: it searches JPG quality until the file is under 50 KB and over 20 KB; at 200 × 230 px expect about 13.1 KB at quality 85. Nothing is uploaded.

What pixel size should the SBI photo be?

200 × 230 px (preferred), printed 35 × 45 mm. At 300 DPI that is 413 × 531 px; at 200 DPI 276 × 354 px. The pixel size is a preference; the file-size range is the check that rejects uploads.

Can I upload a PNG or PDF for the SBI photo?

Only JPG/JPEG; PNG, PDF, HEIC are not listed. The tool can turn a PNG, WebP or (in Safari) HEIC file into JPG while it resizes.

Compress to the SBI limits

Change the file format

Founder price

PixelFit Pro opens soon

Lifetime Pro: batch of up to 500 images to an exact-KB ZIP, saved presets per form, PDF-under-size merge and HEIC batch. Reserve the founder price: 30% off $12 one-time when Pro opens. No payment is taken now. Everything on the free plan keeps working today.

We'll e-mail you once when Pro opens, with your founder price. No account, no newsletter. See the privacy policy.