Skip to content

Updated · how we check

IGNOU photo and signature size

The IGNOU form takes a photo file of at most 100 KB and a signature file of at most 100 KB, both as JPG/JPEG. It also takes supporting documents (at most 200 KB).

IGNOU photo

JPG · under 100 KB (at most 100,000 bytes) · original pixel size · white background

PixelFit aims at 100,000 bytes or less, so the file passes whether the form counts 1 KB as 1,000 or 1,024 bytes.

What are you uploading?
Fit, background and padding white background

Saving presets is part of Pro.

Pick a photo to fit it to under 100 KB (at most 100,000 bytes).

The result appears here: the exact byte count, pixel size and quality, the size before and after, a preview and a download button.

IGNOU upload specifications

Values for the IGNOU online admission, copied from IGNOU Admission Portal: Frequently Asked Questions, checked 31 October 2026; "not stated" means the source gives no figure for it.

UploadPixel sizePrint sizeFile sizeFormatBackground
Photo not stated not stated at most 100 KB JPG/JPEG not stated
Signature not stated not stated at most 100 KB JPG/JPEG not stated
Supporting documents not stated not stated at most 200 KB JPG/JPEG or PDF not stated

What the IGNOU KB limits mean in bytes

The IGNOU photo limit of 100 KB is 102,400 bytes when 1 KB = 1,024 bytes and 100,000 bytes when 1 KB = 1,000 bytes; a file of 100,000 bytes or less passes either way.

The IGNOU signature limit of 100 KB is 102,400 bytes when 1 KB = 1,024 bytes and 100,000 bytes when 1 KB = 1,000 bytes; a file of 100,000 bytes or less passes either way.

The IGNOU supporting documents limit of 200 KB is 204,800 bytes when 1 KB = 1,024 bytes and 200,000 bytes when 1 KB = 1,000 bytes; a file of 200,000 bytes or less passes either way.

Largest IGNOU photo under 100 KB

The IGNOU source gives a file-size limit but no pixel size for the photo. Measured on a public-domain portrait, a 7:9 (35 × 45 mm shape) JPG at quality 85 stays under 100 KB up to about 716 × 920 px (97.5 KB), so any common camera photo has to be scaled down before it fits.

IGNOU rejection checklist

Upload checks computed from the IGNOU specification; a file that fails any one of them is usually refused at upload or flagged later.

  • Photo: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
  • Photo: The IGNOU photo file is no larger than 100 KB (100,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
  • Signature: File type is JPG/JPEG (a PNG or HEIC renamed to .jpg is still rejected).
  • Signature: The IGNOU signature file is no larger than 100 KB (100,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).
  • Supporting documents: File type is JPG/JPEG or PDF.
  • Supporting documents: The IGNOU supporting documents file is no larger than 200 KB (200,000 bytes is safe under both KB definitions).

How to resize your photo for IGNOU

  1. Take or scan the photo

    Use a recent photo.

  2. Load the preset

    Drop the file into the tool at the top of this page. The "IGNOU photo" preset is already set to at most 100 KB, as JPG/JPEG.

  3. Check the result

    Read the before and after sizes: the IGNOU photo must end at or under 100,000 bytes. Download it.

  4. Switch to the signature

    Pick the "IGNOU signature" preset, set to at most 100 KB as JPG/JPEG, and repeat with the signature file.

  5. Upload and preview

    Upload the files on the IGNOU form and check the preview before you submit; verify the figures with the official notice first.

What the IGNOU source also says

  • Photo: Recent passport size photograph.

IGNOU compared with similar forms

Of these 5 forms, the IGNOU photo limit of 100 KB is the strictest, level with GST registration and CTET; a file made for a stricter form usually passes a more generous one only if it also meets the minimum and the pixel size.

FormPhoto sizePhoto file sizeSignature file size
IGNOU (this page) no pixel size stated at most 100 KB at most 100 KB
CEE Kerala M.Pharm live capture / none n/a 10 KB–30 KB
GST registration no pixel size stated at most 100 KB none
DU foreign students no pixel size stated at most 1 MB at most 1 MB
CTET 35 × 45 mm 10 KB–100 KB 3 KB–30 KB

Where the IGNOU figures come from

Verify with the official IGNOU notice before you submit: forms change between application cycles and the check on the live portal is final.

Sources

  1. IGNOU Admission Portal: Frequently Asked Questions, Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), checked 31 October 2026: ignouadmission.samarth.edu.in/index.php/site/faq
  2. Measured by PixelFit with sharp 0.35.5 / libvips 8.18.7 on 31 October 2026, interpolated to each IGNOU target size, on this sample: head-and-shoulders portrait, Pete Souza (Official White House photo), public domain: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:President_Barack_Obama.jpg

Frequently asked questions

What is the photo size for IGNOU in KB?

The IGNOU photo must be at most 100 KB (keep it at or under 100,000 bytes to be safe), as JPG/JPEG. The source gives no pixel size, so the file size and type are what the form checks.

What is the signature size for IGNOU?

The IGNOU signature must be at most 100 KB, as JPG/JPEG.

How do I resize my photo to 100 KB for IGNOU?

Open the tool on this page with the IGNOU photo preset, drop the file and download the result: it searches JPG quality until the file is under 100 KB. Nothing is uploaded.

Can I upload a PNG or PDF for the IGNOU photo?

Only JPG/JPEG; PNG, PDF, HEIC are not listed. The tool can turn a PNG, WebP or (in Safari) HEIC file into JPG while it resizes.

Compress to the IGNOU limits

Change the file format

Founder price

PixelFit Pro opens soon

Lifetime Pro: batch of up to 500 images to an exact-KB ZIP, saved presets per form, PDF-under-size merge and HEIC batch. Reserve the founder price: 30% off $12 one-time when Pro opens. No payment is taken now. Everything on the free plan keeps working today.

We'll e-mail you once when Pro opens, with your founder price. No account, no newsletter. See the privacy policy.